Book Review

Casting A Spell (Zodiac Magic, #1) by P.E. Kavanagh


Everyone has gifts.
Hers happen to be illegal.

Getting outed as a witch is the worst thing that’s ever happened to Libra. Worse than the betrayal of her blabbermouth ex-husband. The last straw? The big, dumb bodyguard who thinks he can protect her from a witch-hating gang. As if.

Ash has one foot out of the life he’s grown to hate. The last thing he wants is to save one more life, but they’ve dragged him back in. All he has to do is guard some woman, supposedly the most powerful Magical in the country. Too bad she’s rude as hell and doesn’t even believe she’s in danger. And he’s pretty sure she’s put a spell on him, because he can’t stop thinking about her.

When the line between the good guys and the bad guys vanishes, working together might be their only hope. Becoming lovers, however, might just kill them.


When I started reading this, I was not sure how I was going to like it. It was not quite what I thought it would be. It turns out I ended up enjoying it. The tempo was great. It did not slow in any areas. The characters were well written, and I liked all of them. This felt more like a romance more than paranormal, but it worked for this story.

What I liked about Libra was she was not your typical character you read in a paranormal genre, or at least the ones I have read. She is a single parent and someone who is on the short side (like around 5’2) I love her perspective of family and how it never faltered throughout the story. I cannot wait to see where her character goes if this story continues.

Ash is your typical military character. He keeps his work and personal life separate. One of his rules: not to fall for the target. He is the leader of this government special ops team. And he is working on his last mission. But he soon realizes something is not right. On another note, Ash can also have a gooey center. A side he does not share too often.

There are two groups that are very well written and help move the characters and story forward. Ash’s team and Libra’s cousins. I loved Libra’s cousins. They felt more like sisters than cousins. They were always by her side when something goes wrong and tells her how it was going to be. Ash’s team were people he could trust and had previous work experience with all but one. He trusts them as much as he could while still getting off that “family” feel.

In this world, witches are to register on a registry list. Currently, witches are not legally obligated to do this, but they remain in the shadows, regardless. Once put on the list, the life of the witch can change. This happened to Libra, when her ex-husband discovered her secret. Once he convinced her, she started getting looks and left her job.

I enjoyed this story. The author did a good job mixing all the elements and giving it a good balance. There was a point towards the end, though, where I got confused and thought maybe a chapter in between that area could have helped.

I would defiantly recommend this story to those who like romance, paranormal romance, and family.

*I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book, and this is my honest opinion.

I give this book a 3/5

Rating: 3 out of 5.

You can purchase this book here!

If you would like to make a donation to help support this blog, you can go here.

Leave a comment